April Blogger Challenge: A Dream Andrew Would Like To Accomplish

As a part of this month’s blogger challenge, it is now my turn to take part. My first entry revolves around the challenge to discuss a goal or dream that I would one day hope to accomplish.

Now, I could go many ways with this topic. I could discuss how my career aspirations are to become a screenwriter in Hollywood, how I hope to win an Oscar someday, or if that falls by the wayside that I even hope to teach Film and Screenwriting on the collegiate level. But no, I’ve decided to go down another path with this challenge. For the dream I one day hope to accomplish is to become…

SPIDER-MAN!

Spider_Man

Now I know what you’re thinking: this is coming from the self-professed fan of many a pretentious art-house cinema flick? You’re damn straight. But truly, honestly, and deeply, if you are able to search my soul there is one great love that clings to my heart like a web (yeah, that took a lot of effort): my love of Peter Parker AKA Spider-Man.

Yes. This is an extremely lofty dream that may seem impossible, but I would argue that it is no more impossible than realizing a career as a writer in Los Angeles.

You see, Peter Parker is my all-time favorite fictional character, and if you think about it, I’m already half-way to accomplishing my dream. I essentially already am Peter Parker, minus those pesky spidey powers. I have girl issues, money issues, I have an aunt who is highly influential on my life, and I’m an optimist (or a miserable optimist, so as not to betray this blog’s very title). I believe in the good of mankind, no matter how many times it may wrong me or those around me.

Disclaimer: I do not have a flair for science. Please ignore this tiny inconvenience.

Peter Parker as Spider-Man has been so highly influential in our culture since the 1960s because he’s the everyman. He’s the one super-hero who is like us. That is not to say there are not others, but he’s the true original. Look at Superman: an alien whose one weakness is a shiny green crystal. And then there’s Batman: a playboy billionaire who has no actual super-powers, but has the income to essentially buy any tool or weapon he needs.

Further Disclaimer: I am a fan of Batman. Superman can go hug a piece of Kryptonite in a Kansas field for the rest of his life for all I care.

Now back to the point. How exactly would I be able to accomplish this dream you ask? Science. Yes, my very own Kryptonite. But see, I wouldn’t be the one doing said science. I’d leave that to better men, ya know, scientists! I’d just have to find my very own Dr. Connors and bribe him with my secrets of his infidelity to his wife. Or maybe just ask nicely. Either or.

I mean, if a teenager in the 1960s can figure out how to make a device that can shoot webs out of his wrists surely a scientist in the year 2013 can! In the words of Breaking Bad’s Jesse Pinkman, “Yeah Science!”

And then there’s that pesky deal with the spidey sense and the radioactive spider. Well, if the advances in scientific engineering have taught us anything (aptly used in Marc Webb’s The Amazing Spider-Man (2012)) then that really shouldn’t be a problem. Dr. Connors will be able to whip me up something in no time! And by no time, I mean a decade. But hey, I’m a pretty patient person.

So yes. I have used my first blogger challenge entry to try and fulfill a life-long dream of becoming everyone’s favorite wall-crawling arachnid. I’m sure some of you may scoff at the very idea. But as for me, I say let the people scoff. If you want to live in a world where optimistic bloggers aren’t able to dream, well go ahead, cause I’m not going to insult you. You see. This blog is that desperate for readers.

You’re welcome.

– Andrew  

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

