April 20, 2013: Happy Record Store Day!

DSCF6589-001
So, this past Saturday was Record Store Day. Did you go and support your local record store?

To be honest, I can’t go too often (or should I say often enough?). But when I do, I make sure to have a limit that I cannot go over (I could do some serious damage!). I’m pretty proud of myself for sticking to it, though. I was able to score some great music and not break the bank. Here’s what I walked out with:

HeyOcean_Final_CBP691

I just recently found Hey Ocean!, in February of this year through Noisetrade, and I am so glad that I did. I don’t think I can say enough about these guys lately. I’m really impressed with their vocals (to say nothing of instrumentation). Ashleigh Ball (vocals/flute) is the lead singer and does an amazing job, but when David Beckingham (vocals/guitar) and David Vertesi (vocals/bass) feature it feels like this band has three equal leads. From this comes a varied, but cohesive, album that ends up being one of those rare CDs you can listen to from start to finish. The 2013 Juno Awards must agree because Hey Ocean! was nominated in the category of “Breakthrough Group of the Year,” which I’ll say it, they should’ve won. But don’t take my word for it, go check them out!

Overseer_-_Wreckage

Overseer’s Wreckage isn’t anything new, the CD came out in 2003,  but I was just looking for this in my collection the other day and couldn’t find it, so when I saw it I had to snatch it up.

51JHGE54PTL._SL500_AA300_

Before a few years ago, I had never heard of Ashley MacIsaac. I went to a concert of his to support my friend (she Irish danced while he played) and when I heard him I was BLOWN AWAY. This guy is a rock-star on the fiddle (shredded bowstrings like cheese on a grater!), so I grabbed this one too. Oddly enough, MacIssac is a distant cousin of Jack White from The White Stripes, who just so happens to be the ambassador for Record Store Day this year. Small musical world!

While I looked through rows and rows of CDs, searching for those gems,  I came across some interesting and unique band and album names that I thought I’d share with you.

DSCF6563-001DSCF6564-001DSCF6580-002

DSCF6575-001And just because it’s Shaq…

-Fallon

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “April 20, 2013: Happy Record Store Day!

  1. […] I mentioned a few months ago that I found one of my favorite bands, Hey Ocean!, through them (read about it here). I’m happy to say that I’ve found a bunch of other bands to put in my iPod since. That […]

Leave a Reply

