April Blogger Challenge: An Event You Would Like to Blog About

Today’s challenge is to choose an event we would like to attend and write what we would say about it. There are plenty of events that interest me: music festivals like Lollapolooza, film festivals like Sundance, sporting events like the Olympics, and the list goes on. I could have chosen any of those events to write about, but no, I dare to dream. Thus, I choose to reveal my geek card and tell you that the event I could only hope to be invited to as a blogger (and then write about) is “a week of Regency related revelry” at the Jane Austen Festival in Bath, UK.

ausfotoj

Yes, this is a real event. And, actually, there are many Austen festivals that happen worldwide. But, I want the most authentic experience possible, so I’m gonna go with the UK on this one. No, it’s not like Lost in Austen or Austenland (all flirting is real here!). The event takes place in September and (I’m just going to throw this out there) if anyone involved with the festival wishes to hook me up with some free passes and what not, I’d be most obliged!

What would I have to write about if I went? I think if I followed in the footsteps of Austen’s characters, it might look something like this…

Upon my first visit to Bath, I find that I am quite unaccustomed to moving in society… the effect of a country upbringing, I am sure. I do not have many acquaintances here, but I did form a new friendship today at the Pump Room. Our introduction was made with a compliment on my new muslin gown, and as you know, flattery makes friends. She is the sweetest creature and has assured me that I shall adjust with the utmost grace and acumen as I acclimate myself to these new surroundings. I plan to continue our acquaintance by correspondence after I return to the country.  Later that evening, I attended a ball. I danced with an officer, and though his rank was not what my mother might wish, he was sufficiently handsome. I also danced with a gentleman- landed gentry! I shall make no comment on his countenance, as it is best forgot.  No proposals yet, but I have only just arrived. I hope to refuse someone within a fortnight.

Now that I’ve got that out of my system, here’s what I would really do:

Put on full Regency garb.

tumblr_mdzqarsqaa1qegasto1_500
Go to the dance workshop.

dancing chawton house 2010
Take a stroll from Queen Square to Parade Gardens as part of the Promenade.

jafestival2008_promanade1w

Attend a ball.

Regency-Ball-8493-200x300

Take HEAPS of pictures.

08prom5
And make new and equally geeked-out Austen friends.

08prom7

Basically, it’s like Austen camp and I’m hoping my parents send me away for the summer.

This year marks the 200th anniversary of the publication of Pride and Prejudice and there will be some extra revelry planned because of it. To celebrate, there will be a Netherfield Ball at the Guildhall in Bath on Saturday, June 22, 2013. Unfortunately, this event is already sold out!

My friend Dana at The Dragyn’s Lair is making a 30 under 30 list. Perhaps I should make one and put The Jane Austen Festival on my list. What do you think?

If you need more Austen (and who doesn’t?) check out some of these sites I just found:

myaustendreamworld.com
janitesonthejames.blogspot.com
austenprose.com

– Fallon

What event would you go to?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

