April Blogger Challenge: Something New I Learned this Month

This is the last post for the April Blogger Challenge. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go trivial or philosophical with this one, so I decided to use it as a segue into a new challenge instead!

From my last post, An Event You Would Like to Blog About, I discovered some cool blogs about Jane Austen. What new thing did I learn that I didn’t already know? Well, due to the anniversary of Pride and Prejudice‘s publication, there is a Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge! Who needs more excuses to watch P&P adaptations? Not me! But, I’ll take ’em anyway.

pride-prejudice-bicentenary-challenge-2013-x-200Challenge details:

Time-line
: The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge 2013 runs January 1, through December 31, 2013.

Levels of participation: Neophyte: 1 – 4 selections, Disciple: 5 – 8 selections, Aficionada: 9 – 12 selections.

Basically, you choose whatever level you want to commit to, then read/watch that many prequels, sequels, or adaptations- and of course, the original Pride and Prejudice by Austen, and write a review of each and post them on your blog.

I’m going to attempt the Aficionada level. My selections are mostly film adaptations.

They are (in no particular order):

Lost in Austen (Jemima Rooper, Elliot Cowan -2008)
Pride and Prejudice (Jennifer Ehle, Collin Firth -1995)
Pride & Prejudice (Keira Knightley, Matthew Macfaden -2005 )
Bride and Prejudice (
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Martin Henderson2004)
The Lizze Bennet Diaries (Ashley Clements, Daniel Vincent Gordh– 2012)
Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen– 1813)
Pride and Prejudice (Greer Garson, Laurence Olivier-1940)
Pride and Prejudice (Kam Heskin, Orlando Seale– 2003)
Bridget Jones’ Diary (
Renée Zellweger, Collin Firth– 2001)

I may also review Austenland when it is released this summer, as it is Pride and Prejudice (or more specifically Colin Firth’s “Darcy”) that propels the main character to go to the Austen theme park.

For those of you that find Austen not to be your cup of tea, no worries. I will still post other things while I take on this challenge. For those of you who love Austen, like moi, please join me! Let me know if you do and leave links to your posts in the comment section below.

Happy reading/watching!

-Fallon

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “April Blogger Challenge: Something New I Learned this Month

  1. […] to take on the Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge and listed my chosen adaptations to review here. Thus, my countdown of adaptations from loathe to love and “tolerable, I suppose” in […]

Leave a Reply

